Towards a Healthy Future

Its been some time now that I’m thinking of switching to healthy foods and I’m in the gradual process of clearing my kitchen pantries and refrigerator from unhealthy carbs and processed foods and replacing it with organic eggs, whole grains, gluten free flours and brown rice products.Not so long ago, I would feed my husband and kids with processed foods daily like frozen burgers, sausages, seasoned noodles, breaded nuggets, french fries, doughnuts, cornflakes, biscuits,canned foods, white rice, white flour products like bread, bun, long rolls, puri, etc. I’m also worried about genetically modified foods (GMO) and each time myself or any family member suffers from gut problems, I feel like I’m responsible too.

quinoa, oat bran and brown rice spaghetti

quinoa, oat bran and brown rice spaghetti

These are a few varieties of gluten free foods I’ve purchased lately.I’ve also got ‘milled flax seeds’ and its good with smoothies. Also I want to include fingermillet (ragi) in my diet.

You can find quite a few good documentaries on youtube about gmo,corn,and processed foods.I personally suffered some time from gluten foods and dairy. Quitting these foods and replacing them with healthier alternatives helped my gut to be healthy and I was energised and active, unlike earlier when I’d be very tired and sleepy, with achy joints, hair loss.

In my effort to replace white sugar, I tried alternatives like aspartame, stevia, xylitol and german rock sugar. I like the taste of xylitol and german rock sugar.Again, avoiding them is still better.

Another thing that worries me is the drinking water quality. We switched to bottled water for couple of years now,but I’m reading about the problems due to plastic bottles and its not nice.We plan to purchase a good water filter.Meanwhile we are buying ‘low sodium’ bottled water.

The struggle to live healthy and eat smartly is still going on.

Have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

